Paladin Law

📞 (417) 228-0784‬​

What is the Federal Tort Claims Act process?

The Federal Tort Claims Act is a significant legal framework that allows individuals to seek compensation for injuries or damages resulting from the negligent acts of federal government employees. Navigating the FTCA process can be complex, as it involves specific requirements, exceptions, and considerations. In this blog post, we will delve into the intricacies of the FTCA process, addressing common questions regarding damages caps, exceptions, coverage, and the scope of applicability. By understanding the Federal Tort Claims Act procedure comprehensively, individuals can better navigate the system and make informed decisions when pursuing a federal tort claim.

Damages Caps for Federal Tort Claims

When pursuing a federal tort claim under the FTCA, it is essential to understand the potential limitations on damages. While the FTCA allows claimants to seek various types of damages, such as economic and non-economic damages, there are caps on certain categories of compensation. Non-economic damages, including pain, suffering, or emotional distress, are subject to a statutory cap. The specific cap amount varies depending on the year the incident occurred. Claimants must consult legal professionals and be aware of these limitations to manage their expectations and accurately assess the potential compensation they may receive.

Exceptions to the Federal Tort Claims Act

The FTCA includes exceptions that limit its scope of coverage. These exceptions can affect the viability of a claim under the FTCA process. Some common exceptions to the FTCA include claims arising from the performance of discretionary functions by government employees, claims related to military activities, and claims involving defamation, false imprisonment, or malicious prosecution. Understanding these exceptions is essential to determine whether a particular claim falls within the purview of the FTCA or if alternative legal remedies need to be pursued.

Scope of Applicability of the Federal Tort Claims Act

The FTCA applies to a broad range of individuals and circumstances. It covers claims against federal agencies and their employees for actions undertaken within the scope of their employment. The FTCA applies to agencies such as the Department of Defense, the Department of Veterans Affairs, and the National Park Service, among others. However, it is important to note that the FTCA does not extend to claims against state or local governments, as they are subject to separate laws and procedures.

The FTCA Notice Requirement

Complying with the FTCA’s notice requirement is crucial in filing a federal tort claim. The FTCA mandates that claimants provide written notice to the relevant federal agency within a specified timeframe. Typically, claimants must submit a Standard Form 95 (SF-95) to the agency responsible for the alleged negligence within two years from the date of the incident. The SF-95 should include detailed information about the incident, injuries or damages, and the compensation amount sought. Failing to adhere to the notice requirement may result in the dismissal of the claim. Therefore, claimants should consult legal professionals to ensure timely and accurate notification.


The Federal Tort Claims Act process can be intricate and nuanced, requiring a thorough understanding of damages caps, exceptions, coverage, and notice requirements. Individuals can approach their federal tort claims more confidently by delving into the FTCA process and addressing common questions. Seeking legal guidance from experienced professionals is highly recommended to navigate the complexities of the FTCA process effectively. By adhering to the requirements and being aware of potential limitations, claimants can increase their chances of a successful federal tort claim and receive the compensation they deserve.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get In Touch